Tempus Fugit: Why English?

Today we had our prelim in our three major subjects. The burden had been"Time-Flies" ease and still we do not know if the stress that we endure for a about two to three weeks is over. One of my classmates asked a question that gave me the inspiration to write this blog. The question is so simple yet its “mind-boggling”. the question goes like this… ” Why are we studying English if we have our own language to enrich and develop?”. I stared at him and stared at him for the rest of the whole period. Obviously i didn’t know what to answer because  I just know that I am studying English because I was ought to master my area of specialization. 

 A never-ending principle was always told us, that we study English to communicate with the people in other places. We are also told that we are taking English courses because it is the Lingua Franca of the world, but then why not enhance first our native tounge rather to learn a language that is quite difficult and more complex?.

“TIME-FLIES”. If we don’t know the real direction of our learning then why not grab the opportunities to answer such doubts.

At the end of the day i realized the answer to the question. I don’t know if you will agree but somehow I think that “WE LEARN ENGLISH FOR A SPECIFIC PURPOSE IN OUR LIFE NOT BECAUSE IT IS THE LINGUA FRANCA, NOT BECAUSE OF THE ACCENT BUT BECAUSE WE VALUE  LEARNING”

There are these advantages in disadvantages of each field but knowing the field like your own best friend will help you know not only your area of specialization but also yourself.( I miss Sir Dennis already… hope he brought “pasalubong” hehehe :))

    “ALL IS WELL”

  – The 3 Idiots

Leave a comment